Multiple Locations

Takács Quartet with Olga Kern, piano

May 8-9, 2024


Multiple Show Dates


Multiple Locations

“Classical music doesn’t get much more life-enhancing than this.”
-The Guardian

2001 was the last time Olga Kern,  Connie and Marc Jacobson Director of Chamber Music, and Takács Quartet were on stage together as part of the Van Cliburn Competition chamber music round. Kern, who went on to win Gold Medal at the competition (the first woman in over 30 years to do so) reunites with Takács once again for two special performances in Norfolk and Williamsburg.

Founded in 1975 in Budapest, Hungary, the legendary Takács Quartet counts among its many awards a GRAMMY, multiple Gramophone Awards and the BBC Music Magazine Awards Disc of the Year. “Rich and subtle playing…. Their sound draws you in from the first moment. The opening chords and sinuous lines vibrate and thrill on many levels” hailed Gramophone Magazine. Kern and Takács will captivate audiences with the Franck Piano Quintet, and Takács will perform the Dvořák String Quartet Op. 51. Don't miss this opportunity to hear music-making of the highest caliber... order now!

5/8: This program is funded in part by the City of Williamsburg and the Williamsburg Area Arts Commission

Takács Quartet — Joseph Haydn String Quartet Op. 77 No. 2 - I. Allegro

Olga Kern — Prelude in B minor, Op. 32 No. 10, Sergei Rachmaninoff